Steve Double MP welcomes stunning upset as Newquay Treviglas seat won by Conservatives from Liberal Democrats by Mark Formosa in Cornwall Council by-election

The Conservatives are today celebrating a stunning Cornwall Council by-election victory in the Newquay Treviglas division, taking the seat from the Liberal Democrats on a large swing in votes.

Tory Mark Formosa beat Liberal Democrat Steven Daniell in a by-election caused by the death of Lib Dem Paul Summers in May. Labour’s Brod Ross came third.

The Liberal Democrat share of the vote collapsed from 68% to just 38%, while the Conservative’s share increased from 32% to 45%. Labour, which did not field a candidate in 2017, polled 16%.

Commenting, newly elected Cornwall Councillor for the Treviglas Ward Mark Formosa said:

“I am absolutely delighted to have won the Newquay Treviglas seat following yesterday’s by-election.”

“I have to pay tribute to my predecessor Paul Summers, whose work representing the area locally was much admired.”

“However this vote, with a large swing to the Conservatives is a strong message to the current ruling Administration at Cornwall Council, the Lib Dems and their friends, that they are not serving the people of Newquay, and Cornwall well.”

“Thank you to everyone who supported me and I now look forward to getting on with the hard work of representing Porth and St Columb Minor, and working with the Conservative Group at Cornwall Council and our MP Steve Double to ensure the Administration is held to account and delivers for the people it is supposed to be working for.”

Commenting, Newquay and St Austell  MP Steve Double said:

“I’d like to congratulate Mark Formosa on his hard fought victory, which is also a team victory for the Conservatives in St Austell and Newquay – a strong endorsement by the community of our positive campaign. Mark is an experienced local campaigner and I look forward to working with him and the other Conservative Cornwall Councillors for the good of the people of Treviglas Ward and Newquay.”

The result was:

Mark Formosa (Conservative) – 363 (+ 14%)

Steven Daniell (Liberal Democrat) – 306 (– 30%)

Brod Ross (Labour) – 131 (+16%)